A New Start…

With the moving of quilty/crafting happenings that leaves this blog for recording other aspects of my world…I’ve set myself a goal of cleaning up, decluttering and generally reclaiming control and order of my house and yard…2011 The Year Of The House!…

It is too big a job to tackle all at once…I need to break it up into manageable sized tasks…if I try to tackle the whole it becomes overwhelming…and that is what has been happening…looking at the whole picture and being overwhelmed and therefore doing nothing…a bit at a time is much more achievable…

I started with the sewing room…an obvious choice as it gains me the biggest reward of a more useable space…

So…from this…

Beyond chaotic…unusable…can’t find anything without an archaelogical dig…

To this…

Ah…a useable space again…where basic supplies like table tops and sewing machines can be found without said archaelogical dig…

And all it took was three days of concentrated attention…figuring out how to take cargo barrier out of Larry and put seats down (first challenge) in order to transport flat packs, a trip to Melbourne to IKEA (a challenge for Mistea as I lost all ability to function in Melbourne that day…who forgets how to operate the car park pay machine for goodness sake!), managing to get flat packs from Larry into house (second challenge), moving furniture, washing walls, shampooing carpet, building furniture contained in IKEA flat packs…and then as that worked out so well…doing it all again for other side of the room…including second trip to Melbourne to IKEA stupidly undertaken on a Sunday afternoon, not my best idea that one…followed by remainder of week sorting and fine tuning details…not finished yet, there are a few things to go back up on the walls, some sorting and cleaning out still to be done, but it is a whole lot better than it was and I’m loving having a space that is fun to be in again…
Still to be done – stick up hanging hooks for small quilts…rehang little wooden shelf thingy and redisplay thimbles…have TV antenna point installed…put TV on wall on adjustable bracket thingy (buy adjustable bracket thingy)…sort stuff in baskets…scan patterns and notes printed off web, on class sheets, etc in folders to reduce paper…sort stuff in wardrobe…create better wardrobe storage…sell or donate bookcases no longer required…

Posted on February 28, 2011, in Clean Up. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow – a lot of hard work but SO much better. You certainly have a lot of stuff – lol ! One day when I get my own sewing room I’m going to have a shock at how much I’ve actually got as it’s tucked away in all sorts of places at the mo.

  2. Aren’t you just full of energy!!! Seriously, it looks AWESOME!!! I’m just soooo jealous of all that workspace you have! lol!!! 🙂

  3. Well done!!!! Now you are so experienced, you can come to my place and do the same!!! Happy sewing

Leave a Reply

