Easter Doings…

Belated Happy Easter – although in the Northern Hempishere I guess I haven’t missed the boat.  Hope the Bunny found you and you have had a nice break.

There hasn’t been much sewing going on here over Easter.   Good Friday was spent helping out in the fire station as here in Victoria it is the Royal Childrens’ Hospital Good Friday Appeal.  Our members take the trucks and local children out to door knock and this year over $8,000.00 was raised,  a very healthy contribution.  The door knock wasn’t held last year given what both our brigade and the community had been through with Feb 7, but the children turned up again this year and off they went – they are certainly brighter and bushier tailed at 8:00am than I am on Good Friday!!!

Friday night I made a fresh start on a pattern that I was testing for an Australian designer – Again!  Let me just say that me trying to sew the previous weekend was not a good idea…it wasn’t pretty.  Better results this time around….

I can’t show you the actual item and I can’t tell you what it is ‘coz it’s not mine to share but I did manage to get the fabric cut out and the stitching done Friday night.  Saturday morning saw me furiously working on the next stage until it was time to go back to the fire station to assist the DSE with a planned burn.  Finally yesterday I finished the pattern test.   I’ll show you  my version once the designer has released the pattern.

That done I tidied up the sewing room – which had become a bomb site  – looked around and got back to work on SIL’s table runner.  The centre block is echo quilted and one end block started.

I still have to decide what to do on the sashing.  Two new quilting pattern books arrived in the mail last week (OK  I admit it, I ordered them, they didn’t just turn up all by themselves) so a bit of a wander through their pages might give me some inspiration.

Well, I’m off to do a bit of a tour about visiting and what not.  Think I’ll take Madam Kafoops (aka Jindi) to the beach for a bit of a play in the sand, she does love the sand, when we visit Mistea later this afternoon for a bit of a sew.

Enjoy the rest of your Easter break.

Happy Sewing…

Posted on April 5, 2010, in quilting, Table Runner. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hello there in down-under 😉 I enjoyed our Saturday night chat and hope you’re doing well today. Looks like your very busy with all your projects.

    It’s a beautiful day today and I can think about is taking a nap – been busy this past week and not used to it.

    Have a lovely day,
    Doris 🙂

  2. This is just a comment so I can sign up to be notified via e-mail since I don’t use wordpress.

Leave a Reply

