4 Down and an Almost Finish…

It’s been a busy week with not a whole lot of time or head space to continue with the sewing projects – work consuming most of Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.  Fridays are generally no work days so yesterday I had a lovely time going to lunch at one of my favourite eateries, Soltan Pepper in Romsey with DF Rose – I had the most delicious Chicken and Mushroom pie, sssooooo gooooood – and I got to check our Rose’s lovely show and tell.  It was great to catch up.  As Rose had to get back for work in the afternoon, I followed up lunch by taking a leisurely meander to Castlemaine via Woodend and Kyneton.  I had four hours to make a one hour journey and well, if I’d come home after lunch I’d leaving again too soon to be bothered starting anything….that is my story and I’m sticking to it – he he he, it’s only a 20 minute drive to/from Romsey.  It was a lovely way to spend the afternoon, just quietly going along without having to watch the clock.

Last night was the first “meeting” for the year of our 6-Midnight class/group at Threadbear in Castlemaine. A careful examination of all blue fabric in the shop (he he he) solicited a result when I found the fabric that I want to use for the binding on my SIL’s table runner. What a coup! Very happy when I found a 30cm cut strip which seemed to be the only piece of that fabric left in the shop but then the ever helpful Megan consulted the reserve stock and found me a second strip, all that was left. Yay, got to be happy about that.

I did manage to get some sewing in between eating yummy tea, chatting, laughing, shopping and eating chocolate….some more hexies – another unit of the centre medallion put together.

Last night’s “completion” was the purple/green unit.  4 down, 8 to go – a third of the way there.  It actually takes quite a while to get these units put together, much more time consuming that they appear.

I had to work this morning and attend to a couple of things on the way back up the hill but I have managed to put the binding on the Bush Creatures quilt.  All ready to be hand stitched down…

I didn’t have enough of the darkest fabric which I wanted to use as the binding and the other two were too pale by themselves so I used rectangles of each of the three fabrics and made a multi-fabric binding.  I’m quite pleased with how it has come out.  Next post hopefully will be the finish for this quilt.

Well, my employers are having a house warming party tonight and I want to go early so I can get back at a reasonable time as I’m feeling a bit short on zzzz’s this week.

Enjoy your weekend and…

Happy Sewing…

Posted on March 13, 2010, in Bumb'le Bee, Quilts, Summer School 2010. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love your purple hexies. All those units appear to be multiplying on a consistent basis, it’s like lucky dip – what colour next? Glad you found the fabric to complete the table runner. Your wild things are looking good.

  2. Busy , busy busy and all looking so good !

Leave a Reply

