Christmas is Coming…

…apparently, so the world keeps trying to get me to comprehend.  Yesterday was our Christmas BBQ at fire brigade…Father Christmas of course arrived on the back of the tanker.  Our members who do the Santa runs are busy busy at this time of the year taking Father Christmas around to the kinders, schools, etc.  I didn’t think to take my camera yesterday morning, I expected to come home after doing my turn for the radio SKED (check) and maybe go back at lunchtime or not, I wasn’t decided as I had to mow the yard and spray the many many weeds, but once there I ended up doing a little refresher training and then it was time for the BBQ and I didn’t wander back home until about four hours after I expected to.  Oh well, it was nice to chat and catch up a little as I haven’t been around much at fire brigade this year between fire seasons.

So, after being reminded (yet again!) that is indeed the month of Christmas, last night I dragged the Christmas decorations down from the top shelf of the linen press. Hopefully the box will not just reside on the couch until New Year and the contents will see the light of day – so far that hasn’t happened but one step at a time.  I’m always surprised when I start this process of what I find that I’ve completely forgotten I have.  And this was surprise no 1…

The second surprise being I actually managed to hang it up already – LOL!!!  I think it was 2007 (it may have been last year but I don’t think so) that I won these stitcheries at sewing group.  We all made stitcheries with Christmas design/s of our choice using the same background fabric and the same DMC thread colour.  All the stitcheries were then divided up to make a number of sets and lucky numbers drawn out.  I was the lucky first to win a set.  I was so excited and they make a lovely reminder of the sewing friends who made each one.  I had two colourways of the same Christmas fabric design and made them up into simple quilt as you go squares, joined the squares together with buttons and a Christmas swag was the result. Amazingly I did this straight away and had the swag ready for Christmas that same year.

So, in the countdown to Christmas…

Happy sewing…

Posted on December 7, 2009, in Christmas, Stitchery. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love your Christmas swag! The stitching is so pretty 🙂

Leave a Reply

