Melbourne Cup Day Out…

Yesterday (Melbourne Cup day) my friend K and I went to Bendigo for a Day Out.  Lunch at a tea rooms, four patchwork shops and tea at my favourite Bendigo Chinese restaurant (the best dim sims) – an excellent way to spend a day.  There  was a purpose, an actual Reason to play patchwork shops, shocking but true as in January K & I are going to Summer School held by Patchwork on Stonleigh in Wodonga and the fabric search was on.  Unbelievably, I actually achieved that goal and my search is over.

At last Summer School in January we chose two quilts we wanted do in 2010 and I bought the Kaffe Fassett Paisley Stripe in Misty while there as the basis for one of the quilts.  During the year I’ve added fabrics for the various smaller elements of that quilt but I needed background and narrow sashing fabrics.   At L’il Blocks I found the gorgeous dark pink spot, picks up the dark pink in the stripe nicely, for the sashing and then at Attic Crafts the yellow spot for the background.  Both are from the same range of Australian designed and printed fabric (I wish I could remember the details), finished beautifully and with a lovely silky feel…

P1010153

One quilt down and now I could turn my brain cells to the second quilt, which had been sadly neglected in the decision making stakes.  I needed a border fabric around which to build the collection.  At Honeysuckle Patchwork I found these…

P1010148

After much to-ing and fro-ing between two large prints from this range as possibilities for the border, I finally decided on this combination.  The prints are from the City Blooms by Kitty Yoshida for Benartex range and the green solid for the background is a nice homespun.  Again these fabrics are finished beautifully and feel just gorgeous.

I’ve certainly stepped outside my comfort zone in these fabrics, a good thing I think to try something new and different.  Thanks to K for her input to the choices.

Happy Sewing…

Posted on November 4, 2009, in Quilts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice fabric – guess I just have to wait a few months to see what they turn into.

  2. The fabrics all play very nicely together. Can’t wait to see the finished quilts. Shouldn’t take that long! LOL.

Leave a Reply

