Finalising Swaps

Finalising swaps before The Big Trip Over The Water which is  now only 1 week away.  The pincushion swap parcel finally made it to the Post Office but it’s still a secret until it makes its way across the waves.  I would show what I made but it has identifying information that would give it away to the recipient should she wander by so it will have to wait.  I actually it finished well in time but then had a bit of a spin out when I realised late last week just how close it was until actually leaving for overseas and swaps went right off the radar for a few days while I developed tunnel vision.

But, in the meantime, I received a lovely squishy parcel yesterday all the way from my secret swap partner Ros in England!  What lovely contents were revealed…

IMG_9861

A very pretty pincushion. The centre is cross-stitched (beautifully) with an Aricula flower.  Two nice pieces of fabric, some ric rac & trim and Earl Grey teabags – yum!  I will be in England from 20 July so I immediately went to my Lonely Planet guidebook and other assorted tourist publications to check out the subject of the postcard, Buckinghamshire.  Mmm, just may have to visit this Buckinghamshire, it looks lovely.

Thank you so much Ros.

One more swap to finalise – well, just wrap the bits & pieces and take to the Post Office tomorrow.  This is the Christmas In July swap put together by Karen at Mrs Martin’s Quilt Shop.  I received my package today but I’m being good and not opening it as instructed by Karen.  We’ll see how long that lasts!  We are supposed to open the parcels on 1 July but as that is Leaving Day I just may have to Break The Rules.

On the sewing front I’ve not achieved a whole lot – see previous reference to spinning out and tunnel vision!  I have managed to put together some drawstring bags for the suitcase for shoes and things but that is about all.  It’s all being a bit overwhelming.  I’d better emerge from this fog soon though as I’m fast running out of time to waste.

Time to get some sleep I think.

Happy sewing

Posted on June 24, 2009, in Completed Swaps. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Those sure are cool goodies you have recieved. Very pretty pincushion!

  2. You have my permission to open it a day early. It would be a shame not to be able to savour what’s in your parcel because you are rushing around trying to get ready to leave on your trip.

Leave a Reply

