Retreat

I‘ve been a bad blgger – life has been crazy mad and I’ve been exhausted but it seems that my work situation is about to calm down and let me have some space – yay! – so it is catch up time.

I went to Retreat this past weekend in Maldon, Central Victoria. Just the tonic to start the recovery process from way too much work stuff.  It was a great weekend.  Contributing to the economy of Maldon Saturday morning with a spot of shopping (clothes, fabric & chocolate!) and having coffee before heading back to camp to start sewing with a vengence.  A wonderful way to start the weekend, very relaxing.

img_9671

Fabric and pattern fromThe Village Patch and one of my fav chocolate brands (Cocoa Farm) from the chocolate shop.  The aboriginal print and co-ordinating fabric is to make a cushion to take overseas with me later in the year for a gift.  The flannel is for the binding on my flannel stack & whack/slash/whatever you call it quilt and the lovely chocolate stripe and co-ordinating fabric is for a bag with my piece of gorgeous Ink & Spindle chocolate wren fabric. I’ll post a pic when it is done.

I managed to achieve three things which is three things more than I usually manage (wonders will never cease).  I pieced the backing from two “not enough” fabrics for the flannel quilt mentioned above, pinned the top/batting/backing together and ditch stiched around the inside of the border to secure the layers.  I am going to tie it rather than quilt it – it’s on the couch now ready for that very task.  It can keep me warm while I’m doing that.

I also made a bag (which I can’t show as it is for a swap) and made the Month 3 blocks ready for Thimbleberries Club on Thursday – I also finally finished the 3 6″ blocks from Month 1.   I’m now all ready for Month 4 – let’s see if I can keep being up to date.  Stop laughing those who know me!

All in all a very relaxing weekend with good company and me actually achieving things – wonders will never cease on that score!!

Happy Sewing

Posted on May 6, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

